Jennifer in the USA

Homecoming and Halloween

Hello people!

This time I’m gonna write in English too, so the people here can understand it, hahah. I am still having the most amazing time! The last time I wrote was before Homecoming, so first of all lets talk about that.

The week before Homecoming we had spirit week again, but I actually didn’t know it, hahah ooops. On Monday we had to wear our school colors and we had an assembly. They showed the Homecoming kings and queens from the Freshmen, Sophomore and Juniors. For the Homecoming King and Queens of the Seniors we still had to vote that week. There were some funny games, again a really American Experience. Tuesday it was Fancy day, so that means a dress and high heels! (Funny fact, the people here are really short, in their eyes I’m tall but in holland im normal/short, so you can imagine when I wear my heels I’m almost taller then everyone in the school :P) Wednesday it was country club day, I’m totally not that kinda person so I didn’t had any clothes for that. Thursday it was Twin day, so together with a friend we dressed out almost the same ;) And on Friday it was Pink out, because it is breast cancer month. That was the day that almost the whole school was dressed out that was so funny! I just love spirit weeks (there is coming one in november again ;)) Friday evening was the Homecoming game, and with choir I had the opportunity to sing the national anthem. I think there is no experience more American then singing the American National Anthem at a football game. They also showed the Homecoming King and Queen of the seniors.

Saturday finally Homecoming!! I was so excited and it was so much fun!! I got picked up by my date and we went together with a lot of other people out for dinner (really American) Then the dance ….. That was so much fun! I can not wish a better Homecoming dance with better people! Thank you everyone!! For the people that want to know how the music was, it was the same as in Holland, but the people here dance more ;P

The week after Homecoming was just a normal schoolday, I hung out after school with some friends and did some homework (my life is getting normal here). Saturday I hung out with my friends at the beach, the weather was not that good, but the water was not cold, so perfect to go in! After the beach I went to my friends house for a sleepover, we watched a Bollywood movie, but we were so tired from the long beach, that we slept really early, hahah.

And….. just a normal school week again, ohh noo.. It was my sisters birthday on Wednesday. That means giving presents and going out for dinner :) This week was also a week that I got a little bit homesick but I survived it, and feel better then before! During the weekend we celebrate my sisters birthday and I had a friend over. Sunday we got pumpkins for Halloween, again a really American experience (that’s the only thing that is happening now). Monday just a really normal day and yesterday we carved our pumpkins, my first one, I can say I’m happy with the result ;)

I was excited the whole week because I had so many fun things during the weekend! Friday there was a Football game, Saturday it was Halloween and I had a sleepover at my friends house (it was amazing, sleeping with three persons in a small bed, hahah) and on Sunday I went to the beach with Mika (dutch exchange student). So as you can hear I have enough things to do here!

Love,

Jennifer

We do not remember days. We remember moments.

Hallo allemaal!

Deze keer zal ik mijn blog ook in het engels schrijven, want er zijn steeds meer mensen die er naar vragen, hahah. Beetje lastig voor hun dat Nederlands om te begrijpen. Ik heb het hier nog steeds ontzettend naar mijn zin! De laatste keer dat ik schreef was vlak voor Homecoming dus daar ga ik eerst iets meer over vertellen.

De week voor Homecoming was het weer eens Spirit week :) Maar ik wist het niet, hahah oeppsss. Maandag moesten we onze klas kleur dragen, maarja als je het niet weet is het een beetje lastig om mee te doen. Ook hadden we een assembly. Hier introduceerden ze de Homecoming Kings and Queens van de Freshmen, Sophomore and Juniors. De Seniors moesten nog even wachten want er werd nog steeds gestemd. Ook waren er wat games, en zoals dit hele jaar een echte Amerikaanse experience. Dinsdags was Fancy day, dat betekend een jurkje en hakken. Wat iedereen zegt over Nederlanders dat ze zo lang zijn klopt echt, in Nederland ben ik niet lang met mijn 1,70 m maar ik ben hier meestal een van de langste en dus met hakken was ik helemaal groot, haahha. Woensdag was het het country club day en donderdag was het Twinday, dat betekend dat je dus samen met een hetzelfde gaat dragen, samen met een vriendin waren we bijna hetzelfde. Vrijdag was het Pinkout, omdat de maand oktober in het teken staat van borstkanker en pinkribbon. En het was grappig om te zien, want bijna de hele school was die dag verkleed, dat was zo leuk om te zien! Vrijdagavond was de Homecoming game, en koor mochten we het volkslied van Amerika zingen aan het begin van de wedstrijd. Ik denk dat er geen betere Amerikaanse experience is dat het Amerikaanse volkslied zingen tijdens een Football wedstrijd. Tijdens halftime maakten ze de Homecoming King en Queen bekend van de seniors.

Zaterdags was eindelijk Homecoming! Ik was zo excited en het was zo leuk!! Mijn date haalde mij op bij mijn huis waar we wat foto’s maakten en daarna gingen we samen met een heleboel andere mensen ergens eten (echt amerikaans) En dan de dance… Het was zo leuk! Ik kon me geen betere Homecoming wensen, met de beste mensen! Dankjewel iedereen! De muziek was eigenlijk hetzelfde hier in Amerika, alleen dansen ze hier meer ;P

De week na homecoming was een gewoon een normale schoolweek, na schooltijd nog na zitten met vrienden bij Starbucks, af en toe een beetje huiswerk (mijn leven begint normaal te worden hier ;P) Zaterdag ging ik met wat vrienden naar het strand, het weer was niet zo goed, maar het water was niet koud, dus perfect om toch het water in te gaan! Na het leuke stranddagje gezellig een sleepover bij een vriendin, we hebben een Bollywood film gekeken, maar we waren zo moe van het dagje strand dat we al op tijd sliepen, hahaha.

En…. weer een normale schoolweek, ohh noo…. Het was mijn hostzusje haar verjaardag op woensdag. Dat betekend cadeautjes en lekker uiteten ;) In deze week heb ik ook voor het eerst te maken gehad met heimwee (gelukkig maar een klein beetje), maar ik voel me nu beter dan ooit tevoren! In het weekend vierenden we mijn Hostzusje haar verjaardag en kwam een vriend van mij gezellig langs. Zondags hebben we pompoenen uitgezocht voor Halloween, die we dinsdag gingen carven.

Ik was de hele week al excited want er stonden van het weekend alleen maar leuke dingen op de planning. Vrijdag een Football game, zaterdag Halloween en een sleepover bij een vriendin (wat echt geweldig is, slapen met z’n drieën op een twijfelaar, haha weer een ervaring rijker) en zondag gezellig naar het strand met Mika (Nederlandse exchange student). Kortom alleen maar leuke dingen.

Love,

Jennifer

We do not remember days. We remember moments.

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active